Monday, May 19, 2008

pro tour #1

Soven Defends His Tour Title in Acworth-

Butler Captures First Pro Tour Win

Acworth, Ga. – Over the past three days, the world’s top pro wakeboarders battled it out on the waters of Dallas Landing Park in Acworth, GA to compete for the first win the 2008 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour season.

Four rounds and three days later, the top-four riders in the Pro Men’s Division took to the water for the final heat of the contest, where all eyes were on Rusty Malinoski (CAN), Phillip Soven (USA), Adam Errington (SCT) and JD Webb (USA).

All four rippers had a killer showing in the finals, but in the end reigning MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour champion Phillip Soven posted a 92.50 to claim the top spot in the contest and became the first rider on Tour to win back-to-back contests in Acworth. Webb, Malinoski and Errington rounded out the competition respectively.

“All those guys stomped some killer tricks out there, not making it easy on me at all,” said Soven. “I was just dialed-in on my final run and came out with a win.”

Although Rusty Malinoski didn’t win in Acworth today, the “Bone Crusher” did pick-up some extra cash thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. The Canadian ripper was named the winner of the Rockstar Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a Heelside Frontside Switch 720 off of the U.S. Air Force Kicker.

In the Pro Women’s Division, six of the top female riders took to the water today for their finals. All eyes were Emily Copeland Durham (USA), as the two-time women’s wakeboard world champion was looking to repeat in Acworth. However, in the end Copeland Durham only manage to finish third, as Nicola Butler (UK) took the top spot, followed by Amber Wing (AUS).

Today’s win marks Butler’s first-ever MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour victory and her second consecutive win in the Queen of Wake series. Nicola Butler’s success continued in Acworth today, as the second-year pro ripper claimed the MONA VIE Best Trick Award. The award is a $250 bonus for the female rider landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a Moby Dick.

Harley Clifford (AUS) took the top spot in the Jr. Men’s finals today, followed by Jimmy LaRiche (USA) and Robert Soven (USA) respectively. Clifford now paces all Jr. Men riders in the Indmar Performance Standings.

Acworth was the first of five stops on the 2008 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. The Tour’s next stop will be held in Forth Worth, Tex. (May 30-June 1), followed by Twin Cities, Minn. (June 7-8), Phoenix, Ariz. (June 28-29) and Reno, Nev. (July 11-13).

No comments: